The Aphids Trio


The Aphids Trio’s first concert was hosted by John Crawford and broadcast live on New Music Australia ABC Classic FM.

Featuring performances of:
Chris Dench, (Australia) from n(ich)t, 1999, for soprano, recorder, guitar
Juliana Hodkinson, (United Kingdom/Denmark), what happens when, 1999, for soprano, recorder, guitar
David Young, (Australia) Maxim I, II, III, IV, 1990/1, for soprano & recorder
John Cage, (USA) The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs, 1942, for soprano & closed pianoforte
John Cage, (USA) Variations I, 1958, for soprano & recorder
John Cage, (USA) A Flower, 1950, for soprano & closed pianoforte
Michael Finnissy, (UK) Two Motets, 1991, for soprano & guitar
Michael Finnissy, (UK) Domestic and Salon Pastimes, 1999, for soprano, recorder & guitar
Bosidar Kos, (Australia) Evocations II, 1999, for guitar
Maurizio Pisati, (Italy) Alp, 1995, for recorder & guitar
Sachiyo Tsurumi, (Japan) The Pelican Babies, 1999, for soprano, recorder & guitar


Soprano — Deborah Kayser
Recorder — Natasha Anderson
Guitar — Geoffrey Morris

Supported by Arts Victoria, New Music Australia, ABC Classic FM, and Goshu Australian Sake.

Iwaki Auditorium, ABC Southbank Centre, Melbourne
15 December, 8pm

APHIDS acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung and Boon wurrung peoples on whose lands we live and work. Sovereignty was never ceded and we pay our respect to past, present, and future Aboriginal elders and community, and to their long and rich history of artmaking on this Country.